Psalm 27:1-2, 5

Has it really been ten months since our last post here on ZBC?  Wow.  Well, I do have a bit of an excuse: we had a second child in November, so I’ve been a bit busy.  Anyway, I got thinking about zombies today, as I was glossing through my favorite heretical Bible translation, the New World Translation, published and used by the Jehovah’s Witnesses.  Lo and behold, I turned to these words in Psalm 27:

Jehovah is my light and my salvation, of whom shall I be in fear?

Jehovah is the stronghold of my life, of whom shall I be in dread?

When the evildoers approached against me to eat up my flesh,

They being my adversaries and enemies personally,

They themselves stumbled and fell.  (Psalm 27:1-2, NWT)

The phrases I’ve italicized make it pretty clear that the passage is speaking of a zombie attack, possibly in the context of the Zombie Apocalypse.  Notice also the use of horror words like “fear” and “dread” in the first verse.  These are commonly used words in describing zombie attacks, especially that word “dread.”  And the evildoers (read zombies) are eating the psalmist’s flesh.  Nothing could be plainer.

Fortunately, there is rescue in sight.  Jehovah is going to provide an escape route.  The fifth verse continues: ” For he will hide me in his covert in the day of calamity; He will conceal me in the secret place of his tent; High on a rock he will put me.”  This instantly brought to mind the hiding places that Zombie Apocalypse survivors absolutely must find, if they are to survive the onslaught of the undead hordes.  A secret tent, high on a rock, is ideal!

Once again, the New World Translation provides a wealth of zombie references…

Leave a Reply

